Flight 88) Penang WMKP – Kuala Lumpur WMKK

Time to get back into the air and leave the beautiful sights of Penang behind. Today’s flight was to last a little over an hour with only 58 minutes estimated airtime. I thought as it was a short flight, I could afford some touring on the way so plotted a route which took me over some hills and small mountains.

After completing my checks and requested the appropriate take off radio messages I was soon rolling down runway 4 by 15:05. The tarmac suddenly turned into bright turquoise water as I headed South East towards land once more. I had full tanks so fuel was not a concern at all and I took advantage of staying low and fast.

I watched the clouds forming ahead which sheltered multiple thunder storms. I could hear them but it wasn’t until I was suddenly hit with a lot of very rough turbulence that I decided it would be safer to fly over them. Once I was above the bad weather I had to rely a little more on the GPS system in my Beech Baron as I was unable to see the ground too easily. I saw a runway displayed on the GPS and discovered that I was flying over Sultan Azlan Shah (WMKI)

Getting the occasional look at the hills below, I could still see low laying cloud and fog trapped within. This combined with the distant thunder certainly did well to create a sense of adventure. The weather was a lot clearer on the other side of the range of hills. The blue sky was now stretching out above me as the clouds dispersed and the winds died down. I even had a nice sun reflection coming off the wings. 2017-3-15_22-51-34-479Flying over the city of Kuala Lumpur I knew to look out for the iconic Petronas Towers and the bridge connecting the two. With a few airports to choose from in Kuala Lumpur I considered landing closer to the city but chose to stay with the International Airport at WMKK. Once I touched down on runway 14 left, I was given the longest list of instructions to taxi to my parking spot I had ever heard. (A5 A B7 T2 T3 F T5 T7 T6 T8.) I appreciate these messages may not mean anything to the uninitiated so to explain, simply consider each of the figures to represent a taxiway along the airport. Much in the same way you could follow the A1 M25, M23 when driving roads in Britain. After taxing for the longest distance so far on this tour I finally parked at 16:40 ready to see this amazing city.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kuala Lumpur Drone – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxaIn93yHVU#t=1.362125
Kuala Lumpur – City Video Guide – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MfneG2aWPg
Kuala Lumpur City Tour 2016 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2hY6hUYYEv4
MALAYSIA PART 1 – Kuala Lumpur  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H3mKsoKUiQ
CRAZY LIGHTNING STORM IN KUALA LUMPUR! – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7CkKZ_wBYQ
Best Things to do in Kuala Lumpur – Overnight City Guide – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WzyXTUrcLaw
4K Drone Footage KUALA LUMPUR [DJI Phantom 4]  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fy5iJuJag4

One thought on “Flight 88) Penang WMKP – Kuala Lumpur WMKK

  1. Peter April 27, 2017 / 10:10 pm

    Lol the taxiway

Leave a Reply

