Flight 76) Beijing – Seoul

It was 12:30 by the time I had finished setting up the flight simulator software, loaded my plane and requested a fuel truck so I could fill my tanks again. It’s a good job virtual fuel is free! I’d dread to think how much it would cost in fuel to travel around the world with this many stops. Looking to my right I could only be thankful that I was not having to pay to fill the tanks of a Boeing 747.

With another clear sky without a cloud in sight, I was looking forward to this afternoon flight and was soon taking off from runway 36 by 12:50. I took another small detour to fly over Beijing and to get a last look at the Forbidden city before turning to a heading of 120 degrees to take me on a direct path to South Korea as I wanted to make this flight as short as possible. 2016-6-26_12-57-46-204By 13:45 I found myself flying over the coastline of China and the green shade of sea water below which continued far off to the horizon. I paused only the once to take a lap around a very small but pretty island. I meant to check what this island was called but was too busy to do so during the flight. 2016-6-26_16-0-2-185Once I had reached land once again I released that this would have been North Korea. With all the negative information provided by the news about North Korea I was pretty relieved to be in a simulator. Even so I decided to fly as low as possible, buzzing the tops of trees, hills, mountains and even the water of a lake. Eventually the rough terrain gave way to a very wide river which I followed for long enough that I was only 13 miles away from my destination airport of Seoul.

Seoul was a huge city. Much bigger than I had expected. Wanting to land quickly I saw what I could of the city from the air but did not fly any laps. By the time I landed it was 17:17 although this included the extra hour I had lost by crossing the time zone.

Another day I took a gentle flight over the city and found Incheon Airport just off the coast. This was a much larger airport which the simulator had re-produced in detail. I figured it would be nice to land here and refuel before the next leg of the world tour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

25 Best Things To Do in Seoul, South Korea – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-zrjBpKGiI
Overnight in Seoul, 36 hours in the city  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSKGDNzb4pc
Travel Vlog: Seoul, South Korea | HAUSOFCOLOR  – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Zd8UjpJmK4
Seoul Vacation Travel Video Guide – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzD5Lk5buVY

Whilst digitally exploring Seoul I learnt that Gangnam was a district within the city, now made known world wide through the PSY song Gangnam Style – Couldn’t leave out the music video now could I?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=GB&hl=en-GB&v=9bZkp7q19f0

Leave a Reply

