Flight 72) Nansang – Hanoi

After finding that there was little information to be found online about Nansang, I was looking forward to reaching Hanoi. Knowing full well that there would be a large amount of history to discover I was eager to get moving.
The night before the flight I took a look at the weather forecast and estimated how long the journey would take. At 590 miles and expecting a 3 hour flight time, this would be another lengthy flight. At 9:30 am I sat in the Beech Baron 58 for a short while listening to the distant thunder and gentle 4 mph wind, whilst setting up the maps I would be following as well as filling the fuel tanks once again.
I didn’t waste much time and was quickly in the air once again and requested “flight following” at 09:51.As far as I could see, the hills were covered in dense forest looking like a creased blanket due to the rolling hills. Thick cloud was forming at around 5,000 ft so I stayed low and chose to skim over the terrain.
It was good to see pockets of life in the occasional villages and towns nestled within the trees. Eventually the rolling hills grew in size are were soon better described as mountains. Upon reaching Mae Hangson airfield I turned to a heading of 130 and continued towards Hanoi. The mountains had pushed my plane higher until my view was obstructed by thick clouds. The lack of visibility made me decide to climb a little further until I could see above the cloud.
My second way point was over another airport, this time “Chang Mai,” and the radios were soon buzzing with activity. I was even able to watch a Learjet land as I flew past. I turned left to a new heading of 100 and hopped over some more hills after passing low over the rather large Chang Mai city. At this point I was advised to tune to Bangkok radio which was even busier than before.
I took a bit of a detour from the safe pink line of my GPS plotted route to check out a lake I saw in the distance. Having fun flying low over the lake I was surprised to see another big town on the far end. This looked like a very beautiful part of the world to live.
2016-2-27_11-7-29-446.jpg
Whilst I am keen to see Bangkok, Thailand will be a destination I shall be stopping at later in my tour but for now I shall continue to work my way up to Japan before I double back on myself slightly before heading south and towards Australia!
The familiar lush green forests continued to pass below me and the sudden appearance of a cliff face intrigued me enough to stray from the GPS path once again. A river below looked very muddy and once I discovered this was Da River. I was more than happy to follow this winding stream of water all the way to Hanoi.
As the forest had become familiar, so too had the weather. This time fog within the mountains made for a creepy atmosphere although I knew that the river water would be the lowest point around, I could stay low, and continue to follow this river in relative safety.
2016-2-27_11-56-49-636.jpg
As the clock showed 13:20 the fog had thinned out and I could once again see the rocky hills surrounding me. I was almost relieved to be contacting Naibai approach with only 23 miles left to fly.
Hanoi city was much larger than I had expected. So much so that I looped around the airport and across much of the city before confirming my landing intentions.
I took my landing very steady indeed as the fog was still lingering below 2,500 feet. The visibility upon landing was pretty poor and I felt bad when I heard 2 other aircraft were told to “fly around.” This meant that I had prevented them from landing and that they had to take another go at it. By 13:48 I had landed and was taxiing to my parking spot.
Time to learn about all that Hanoi has to offer!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

HA NOI, Vietnam Travel Guide, Ha Noi’s Old Quarter { Fascinating Destination} 1 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nr-ksAUy2c0

HA NOI, Vietnam Travel Guide, Ha Noi’s Old Quarter { Fascinating Destination} 2 –
The Old Quarter in HaNoi – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTm_J4wcjAU
Hanoi Old Quarter Walking Tour (Including Food Market) (With Facts/Figures) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfDyPM6Vxt8
36 Hours in Hanoi, Vietnam | The New York Times – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7ENbAp92QY
HANOI – VIETNAM / A TRAVEL GUIDE – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmlgDhua1rM
International Street Foods Hanoi Vietnam Full Documentary – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PuJJ7LL-Mgs
Traveling Vietnam: Hanoi to Halong Bay – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDDRT8WGGjM
TOP THINGS TO DO IN HANOI, Vietnam in 1 day – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=paaV3RQP_Q4

 

Leave a Reply

