Flight 71) Mandalay – Nansang

The distance between Mandalay and Nansang is a lot shorter than the majority of my flights recently and as such this was due to be a short flight so I figured I could squeeze it in one morning before I started my day job.
The weather was cloudy but the temperature gauge indicated a warm 22 degrees. I’d love to feel a 22 degree day at the moment because Edinburgh, UK has been struggling to get above 5 degrees recently.
As I taxied from my parking space I saw a couple of dramatic lightening flashes which made me a little nervous about flying into such weather. By 9:40 I had received my take off clearence and was leaving the safety of the Mandalay tarmac.
Reaching 2,400 feet I was above the worst of the fog and entered some very heavy turbulence. I suppose this was to be expected having just watched the approaching storm.
2016-2-26_10-7-20-323
Between the clouds I could see pockets of blue sky above. The turbulence and heavy winds were blowing me off course quite a bit and I noticed my eye darting to the fuel levels pretty often as I was sitting at 1/4 of a tank. This would be more than enough to get me to Namsang.
As the clouds eventually dissapated I saw the hills below and dropped altitude enough to see them up close. The rolling thunder in the distance seemed to echo through the valley. My landing instructions were given to me over the radio as I was still over the hills and it wasn’t until I had cleared them completely that the heavy turbulence subsided. It was much easier to control the small aircraft in the cleaner air.
2016-2-26_10-30-42-73
Once again I found myself back in the fog and clouds and had to rely on some instrument flying. I found it pretty fun balancing the gauges whilst following the varous instructions coming through the radio. Finally lining up with runway 17, I admit that it took a little longer that I would have liked to spot the runway and saw that there were no buildings to help mark it’s location. I’m sure this is likely to be the simulator restrictions as I would dread to think that the real location is without ANY buildings at all.
The runway was lovely and long and without any pressure to get my wheels down quickly, I did bounce my landing slightly. I clearly need some more practice to get back into this virtual flying game. Parking up on the grass at the end of the runway I could still hear thunder rumbling in the distance but I was glad to be back on terra firma.
I couldn’t find too much information about the township of Nansang (or Namsang). At only 20,000 inhabitants I suppose this was one of the smaller destinations on my tour.
110172642110172680110172684
Undiscovered Myanmar: Seven Cities and Three Weeks in Burma – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLYOGITcn34
One Week in Myanmar – Bagan, Inle Lake, Yangon – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-isgplZXqxU
Leave a Reply

