Mount Everest

The challange of landing my small Beech Baron at the world’s most dangerous runway certainly filled me with excitment but I must admit that the relief felt upon landing safely was holding me at this location for much longer than it should have. I suppose I was reluctant to send my plane rattling downhill towards a 2000 ft drop into a valley. I chose to spend a fair amount of time exploring the extremely well trodden pathways from Lukla to Everest base camps.
Using Google Earth I was very pleased to see that someone with stronger legs than mine has taken 360 degree photos all the way along these paths incorporating “street view” features, all whilst above 9,000 ft. The paths were small and damp with a handful of man-made bridges crossing icy river waters. The shacks and lodges along the route seemed to be the true definition of cosy. I could very easily imagine numbers of people making new friends and sharing many a warming drink before taking on the massive adventure of climbing Mount Everest.
Earlier into my around the world tour, I flew to Mt. Kilimanjaro and after watching several videos from those who have scaled this peak, I would very much love to complete this challenge first hand. For some reason I do not share the same passion or desire to climb Everest. It may be due to my stronge dislike for the cold. I was much happier to be able to fly around this iconic mountain virtually and appreciate its massive size from the warmth and comfort of my leather chair.
Working up the courage to leave theI took a long flight North from Lukla and found my way to the tallest peak I could find. It was safe to say that Everest was rather easy to find although it was as slow struggle to gain the altitude needed to clear some of the ridges as I flew around.
2015-11-14_15-10-8-33 copy.jpg
2015-11-14_14-39-25-669 copy.jpg
2015-11-14_14-59-17-849 copy
When considering the next leg of my tour, I knew that I would need to start with a lot more fuel on board. I was less than confident taking off from Lukla with full tanks of fuel. This would only make my plane heavier and more likely to dive off of the end of the runway. I figured it would be much safer to return to Kathmandu and complete the full journey to Dhaka from Kathmandu. With the little fuel I had left after navigating my way around Mount Everest itself I took a final low flight through the valleys eventually reaching the basin surrounding Kathmandu.
Another spectacular part of this around the world tour was over but I was eager to move on to see what else the world has to offer. Next stop, Dhaka, Bangladesh.
mikko_01662015-11-15_12-45-36-552 copyMount-Everest-free-wallpapersMount-Everest-in-Everest-Movie-2015Mount_Everest_Summit_11
Mount Everest and its geological story – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KRTfKZfIp0
Climbing MT Everest with a Mountain on My Back The Sherpa’s Story BBC full documentary 2013 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HlAiU5fIaKY
National Geographic Live! – The Call of Everest – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=megSEXmV0nQ
Everest – Getting to the Top – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFkC7Cd9-IE
Leave a Reply

