Flight 65) Hyderabad – Nagpur

I feel like I have spent a long while navigating the various large cities speckling the map as India passes below my small aircraft and this next trip was to be yet another city hop. Hyderabad to Nagpur is roughly a 90 minute journey and I was happy to fit this relatively short flight into my mid afternoon.

I began the afternoon by firing up the FSX Simulator on my computer and was sitting in the virtual Beech Baron 58 by 14:40. With a rather noisy start I watched a Learjet in the gate next to mine taxi to the runway and eventually take off. I completed the rest of my check, set up the route into my GPS and began radio contact by 14:50. It took a short time to taxi towards runway 27 and I was told to hold position before crossing to allow the clear landing of a much larger Airbus. I wasn’t going to get in the way of that beast. I decided to take the opportunity to clean my windscreen. (By windscreen, I mean PC monitor.)

My own aircraft was dwarfed again but a second Airbus which followed me right to the runway. I received my take off clearance at 15:00 and was soon in the air heading towards my first way point. The skies above were grey and I was itching to have a little fun in the aircraft so decided to cancel my IFR to gain a little more freedom. The landscape was extremely fat with much patchy forest and fields to each horizon. As I climbed higher the horizon rippled with the signs of developing cloud.

2015-7-9_9-27-38-99 copy

50 minutes in to the flight and I reached my first way point. The view below was restricted by the dense and wispy cloud which had now formed. It appeared to me very much like a developing storm which was confirmed once I saw a few flashes of lightening. I failed to hear any thunder following however. The thickening cloud draped India with a blanket with the occasional column of cloud which I enjoyed dodging. Now I heard the thunder as a very loud clap came from one of these columns.

Requesting IFR through the radio, once again I descended to 5,000 ft and eventually the clouds dispersed all except a thin line spanning the eastern horizon. I could still spot the odd flash of lightening just catching my eye now and again.

As I began my landing intentions to Runaway 32 I received a few ILS instructions and battled some very bumpy turbulence to eventually be cleared to land at 16:19. The rough air made for a rather heavy landing and my wheels touched tarmac a couple of times at 16:22. I quickly parked up by the re-fueling bay and tried not to worry about the amount of lightening I had just seen. Time to see what Nagpur has to offer.

538pratishtha55f Nagpur-city-taxis-in-Nagpur VNIT-Nagpur-Mig

Cockpit landing at Nagpur Airport – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8eKoKOlPD7Y

Nagpur City Tour HD – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et_xC2YfvZI

Top 10 Places to visit in Nagpur – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DeTdGYB_tY

10 Haunted Places in Nagpur – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jfg9stPSOJk

Nagpur – Heart of India – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_VqI0rVT1ao

 

Leave a Reply

