Flight 61) Kadhdhoo, South Maldives – Ratmalana, Sri Lanka

I had enjoyed surrounding myself with images from the beautiful Maldive Islands and have spent a lot of time looking into holiday packages which I would love to book myself on. The time had come for me to stop wishing I was there and move on wards with my around the world tour and put the tranquil shores and white beaches behind. The next stage of my journey would take me to Sri Lanka. I have to admit that I didn’t really have much of a mental picture of what I expected Sri Lanka to be like so I was looking forward to seeing this larger island on the southern tip of India.

Kadhdhoo airfield was very quiet and I had seemed to have gotten lucky with the weather whilst I saw the strong sun shining down on the runway. After checking the fuel levels and setting the weight to allow for a few “souvenirs” on board, I fired up both engines, taxied the very short distance to the runway before taking off a little after 10:15 am.

The flight would be over the large expanse of sea and would provide little in the way of scenery so I set the plane into a gradual climb eventually reaching 10,000 ft and headed north to return to Malé. The sky was wonderfully clear and this was the best weather I had experienced in all my time flying around the Maldives. The smaller islands dotted the ocean below me and I could easily recognize the city of Malé and the international airport. The many sea planes and small boats were the give away. Changing direction I flew North East towards Sri Lanka for what seemed like a very long time. The colour of the sea had turned into a much darker blue and I knew the waters would be much deeper out here.

One of two clouds began to form on the horizon marking the signs of land ahead. Closer still and I began to make out smaller mountains though a haze of mist. Was I to have to contend with more fog? It was a relief to be back over land once again and wasn’t long before I found my destination airport “Ratmalana.”

It looked as though Ramalana was just as warm as the Maldives and possibly had even more to offer. Time to take a tour of Sri Lanka!

22_boeing_772_app_cmb 64341677_touristselephantasigiriya021211_afp Anuradhapura3 SL_0282_IT1 Sri Lanka Gentemple16 Dec 2010 - photo P

Weligama, South coast, Sri Lanka, 1995."Fishermen along the southern coast of Sri Lanka cast their lines in the traditional way atop poles so they can work in shallow water without disturbing the fish." - George Eastman HouseThe theatrical stage would not offer a finer gesture, nor a more equisite doubling between the near and the far, than does this picture. McCurry captures the beauty of a cultural tradition and with it a natural choreography. This image also preserves a practice now essentially lost to technology, having all but disappeared in the intervening years since the photograph was made. -Anthony Bannon Magnum Photos, NYC5948; MCS1995006K200, Phaidon, 55, South Southeast, Iconic Images, final book_iconic
Weligama, South coast, Sri Lanka, 1995.”Fishermen along the southern coast of Sri Lanka cast their lines in the traditional way atop poles so they can work in shallow water without disturbing the fish.” – George Eastman HouseThe theatrical stage would not offer a finer gesture, nor a more equisite doubling between the near and the far, than does this picture. McCurry captures the beauty of a cultural tradition and with it a natural choreography. This image also preserves a practice now essentially lost to technology, having all but disappeared in the intervening years since the photograph was made. -Anthony Bannon
Magnum Photos, NYC5948; MCS1995006K200, Phaidon, 55, South Southeast, Iconic Images, final book_iconic

An Island Paradise | Sri Lanka – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpZI2oGPsio

SRI LANKA 2015 – 16 Days of Paradise – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUJQpdQ45HI

Exploring Sri Lanka – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZ4oB9n5RGc

Sri Lanka World’s Most Beautiful Island – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTaWFOhOuBI

Kamila & Adrian, Mr. Drone 2015 | Sri Lanka HONEYMOON – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28WXY1CsEVI

Sri Lankan Traditional Music – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGbmb9Dg9g0

Leave a Reply

