Flight 59) Bangalore – Thiruvananthapuram

I had foreseen this flight as a stepping stone destination whilst on my way to the Maldives, with my stop off being in Thiruvananthapuram. Landing at Trivandrum International Airport on the South West corner of India. Eager to set off, it was an early morning start. At 07:10 I checked my fuel levels and could see they were rather low so requested a fuel truck to fill my Beech Baron. Disappointingly, there were no fuel trucks available so I requested taxi clearance to the fuel pumps. For the first time in a very long while I had trouble starting the engines. Was this due to the low levels of fuel or a more serious problem? In the FSX simulator I did not have to worry about maintenance. This would be a great addition to add in the future though. As it turned out, I was to blame for the engine trouble as I had not adjusted the mix levels correctly from the center console. It would appear that I don’t perform well at this time in the morning.

After successfully getting the engines running, filling my fuel tanks quickly and adjusting my weight to allow for various baggage etc, I was soon ready to go. I had already pre-planned my route making sure I would pass over the best of the scenery on offer between Bangalore and Thiruvananthapuram. I pushed back from the fuel pumps whilst watching an Airbus unloading and was soon behind a second airbus about to take off.

2015-4-13_23-37-25-259

The sun was bright and low whilst the sky above was clear with only a small collection of clouds on the horizon in all directions. I saw the Airbus take off and listened to “Airwave 202” land, before I began my own take off from runway Right 27 at 07:48. With a climb rate of 600 ft per minute I headed for my flight path as highlighted in purple on the GPS and was soon reaching the same hills I had left behind in my previous flight. The winds were pretty gusty as they hit the hills below me. I wasn’t complaining though as they helped my aircraft climb very quickly at times. 2015-4-14_0-22-8-740

At 12,000 ft I could see there were 2 separate layers of cloud and adjusted the fuel mix for high altitude flight. By 08:20 I cancelled the IFR so that I could descend freely and enjoy clinging to the terrain below. As I did so the clouds began to get a little heavier and I am sure there were a few grey ones among them. After the hills flattened out I climbed higher once again. The twisting and turning to follow the terrain had taken me rather off course and I would have been a lot quicker simply flying direct to Thiruvananthapuram as I was getting tired already. Once again, it is clear to see that I am not good in the mornings.2015-4-14_1-54-44-310

I descended for a while, gaining speed as I did so whilst noticing that the clouds had now disappeared completely. I could see the ocean from my right hand window as I headed further South to find Trivandrum International Airport itself. I passed over the last of the hills and cliffs I would see whilst following the length of India and saw the last of the terrain flatten out to the sea. Somewhere in my field of view was Thiruvananthapuram. For this journey I still have no idea how to pronounce this name.

Still descending I turned towards the airport and lined up with the runway a very long way away. I noticed that I was pretty high and fast. It’s very difficult to lose altitude quickly without rapidly gaining speed too. I completed another perfect landing, even if I do say so myself, and quickly hurried off of the runway to allow for the following aircraft to touch down. This was the second time I have been hurried off of the runway whilst being closely followed.2015-4-14_2-9-12-897

At a few minutes past 10:00 my small plane was quiet once I had parked up near the fuel pumps and I had switched the engines off. I don’t think I will need fuel for my next flight although I will be flying over the sea. It can’t hurt to have full tanks I suppose.

01KovalamBeach&Kerala

Kovalam Beach

Sree_Padmanabhaswamy_Temple

sri_padmanabhaswamy_templeaim_bn_1315630829

Padmanabhaswamy Temple

  The-Napier-Museum Thiruvananthapuram-4851_0 utharam_kayam_thiruvananthapuram20131206091350_379_1 valiathura_beach_thiruvananthapuram20131031122220_86_1

 

 

Emirates Flight 522 Dubai to Trivandrum – Full Landing video – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX5Chm0alTM

Thiruvananthapuram City Tour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EF5SHsea_UE

Happy – We are from Trivandrum – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWQSywJvzgU

Thiruvananthapuram Ananthapadmanabhan Temple – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpSYHJ9PRMk

Trivandrum, Thiruvananthapuram, District Kerala – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d38vmIMzP7Y

Developing Trivandrum : Rising Metro of the Country ! – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnrlhwr2wcw

A Ride Around Trivandrum – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y7LIjS0mgjo

Rocky, Mayur go surfing for food in Thiruvananthapuram – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5mHdJmXVLNI

Rocky, Mayur’s delectable delights in Thiruvananthapuram – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ittJ-4OLtYg

Leave a Reply

