Flight 58) Mangalore – Bangalore

Before I began this flight I wanted to take a look at the map to set out my flight plan. I had seen that there was a large airport called Kempegawda International on the outskirts of Bangalore which I wanted to fly to. Unfortunately having only recently replaced HAL Airport as Bangalore’s main airport in 2008, FSX did not have this as a destination. This meant that I would be landing at the original HAL Airport in the city itself.

It was late afternoon by the time I had plotted my flight plan and started my aircraft’s virtual engines. Checking the fuel I could see that I was pretty low with only a quarter of tanks full. The flight was to be a short one and I was confident I would make it to Bangalore on the fuel I already had.

I took off from runway 27 shortly after 16:50 and headed west, right into the setting sun. I can understand why the aircraft is fitted with large sun visors as the bright sunlight would have been blinding. The Arabian sea was soon below me and I began to double back so that I could head East towards my next destination.

2015-4-12_23-13-50-266

There was a slight layer of mist sitting on the horizon and I could make out the faint flashing of aircraft lights high above me in the sky. The sky was mostly clear although I could see a bank of clouds to the South from my right windows. As the sky became a deeper shade of blue the treetops lining the crest of hills became silhouettes marking out the terrain. I enjoyed the very low passes I made over the top of each hill and even followed an extremely winding forest road to the top of a very large hill. This peak was part of crescent shaped range of peaks created by the curved ridge I was following. Once I reached the line of high peaks I could see the lake which I noticed on the map previously indicating that this was my turning way point and I left the high ground for a longer, flatter run across the country.

2015-4-12_23-6-53-523

With the hills behind me blocking out what was left of the low sun, the sky quickly became much darker and I watched the tiny lights spark on below me. I took the time to gradually rise to an altitude of 10,000 ft although the ground was still only a few 1000 ft below. It was fascinating to watch the road lights cut through the dark landscape and snake their way around the odd lake or river.

After a while of pretty none eventful flight I was given instructions to enter a right turn landing pattern for Runway 27. It was only whilst writing this blog when I realized that I had landed in exactly the same direction from which I had taken off. During my decent the city lights came into view and I was easily able to spot the airport as I flew over the city and completed my crosswind leg. The very calm weather and long runway meant I was able to perform a lovely soft landing at the furthest end of the runway so that I was closer to the terminal buildings. I needed to exit the runway pretty quickly as there was a much larger 747 coming in to land right behind me which I did not want to force to go around for a second attempt. I parked up and saw that whilst I was comfortable for fuel, I will certainly require a refuel before I take off again but for now its time to “Chillmari.” (Bangalurean for “Chill out.”)

Bangalore2

Streets of Bangaloreprivate-bangalore-tour-city-sightseeing-including-anjaneya-temple-in-bangalore-14253804 Vidhana Soudha granite building

Vidhana Soudha Palace

CubbanPark

 Cubbon Park

lalbagh-glasshouse-republic-day-flower-show-main-attraction-bangalore

lal bagh bangalore

Little Bangalore – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C-f99zVjaVw

Bangaluru on Being Bangalorean – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ce-A4fDkLJM

Bangalore – A Multi Faceted City – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4uAGZ_ixh1g

Rinosh George – This is Bengaluru (Music Video) HD – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8lLKgtKIOc

Why Bangalore is so famous city in india – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMKMBZe-UC4

Bangalore, Living in a global city – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYfVAPzvuug

Flavors of Bangalore – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJu1riv-HOQ

Leave a Reply

