Flight 53) Jodhpur – Ahmedabad

Seeing the Jodhpur airfield in daylight for the first time showed the landing strip to be rather green with vegetation. I am pretty confident that this is not the case after checking out Google Earth and various images from Jodhpur City. Even in the morning the air temperature outside as 20 degrees! I really do need a holiday to the sun.

With still no radio contact option I took off from the very quiet runway and completed a loop over the city to see some of the larger sights I knew the city had to offer. Unfortunately the heavy fog had not lifted and it was apparent that I was not going to be able to sight see. I continued to circle over the city whilst gaining altitude all the way to 15,000 ft! This was unusually high for my light aircraft and I could still not see through the mist. Up here I needed the heating elements all switched on as it was now -6 outside of the aircraft.

I knew that it would have been impossible to see anything for the journey if I chose to complete my flight to Ahmedabad in this weather so remembering how quiet the landing strip was at Jodhpur, I decided to land there again and hope that the weather cleared up on another day…


A few days later I though I’d have another attempt at leaving Jodhpur city and make my way to the next destination Ahmedabad. With the fog still hanging in the air I knew that the take off and initial climb at least, would have to be done by instruments only. The altitude of 5,000 ft came around pretty quickly and I was soon above the fog and into considerable cloud but at least these clouds were mostly low laying. I continued to climb to 15,000 ft again and saw the wide open Indian landscape stretch out below.

2015-3-11_18-7-46-750 copy

The clouds eventually thinned out again and I cut back on the throttle to slowly descend towards my half way point. I was finally able to make radio contact with Mumbai Center who gave me my squawk code 7115 and maintained flight following. My half way point of the flight actually crossed a landing strip. I had to check what it was called but found Udaipur Tower through the radio frequencies and requested a “touch and go” landing just to add an extra landing credit to my FSX statistics. There was still a slight layer of low laying fog and I took off again straight away.

2015-3-14_9-51-10-228 copy

The rest of the flight was much more enjoyable as the fog dispersed and I was able to fly low across the fields at 170 knots which is pretty quick for my small plane. The crescent moon on the horizon and occasional flock of birds enjoying the rising thermals were certainly a relaxing change to the consistent fog.

2015-3-15_11-52-21-683 copy

Coming into land a Ahmedabad the clouds had built up again and I am sure I spotted a flash or two of lightning. I was advised to flight straight in to Runway 23 and with no fog or crosswinds I had one of the smoothest landings of my tour.

Residents-of-Karachi-protest-against-long-power-cuts-650x5209294748ahmedabad-city1593880kankaria_lake

Kankaria Lake
images

Ahmedabad Airport – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tymsj4t9MXA

Landing at Ahmedabad International Airport – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aj90ikcp4h0

Ahmedabad City – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ff3M5d-tUs4

Life in Ahmedabad – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Te4qsN9WsM

A Kaleidoscope of Colors, Ahmedabad – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiQfnxbx4Jk

Walkthrough in the old Ahmedabad – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXDb8tV7KaE

Sholay – Title Music – LIVE ORCHESTRA AHMEDABAD – RAAJIV VYAS – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZMWBu2R-DLA

The Foodie Ahmedabad unplugged – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjyWdCWOzhs

Leave a Reply

