Flight 52) Karachi – Jodhpur

After taking a look at the route on the map to prepare myself for what terrain there may be, I loaded the flight simulator FSX and got myself comfortable for the journey ahead. It doesn’t take me long to turn on the fuel tanks, set the prop and mixture levels before starting the engines. I watched the engine temperature rise and read that the air temperature outside was 15 degrees. Living in Edinburgh UK and having endured the lasting winter, I would certainly welcome a 15 degree warmth first hand.

As I taxied to Runway 25 Left I followed a red and white De Havilland Dash-8 and got a close view of “World Travel 383” – a large Boeing 737, touch down and kick up some tire smoke. Watching the Dash-8 take off I was soon cleared to take off myself and began my flight over the city. There was not much to see as the city was covered in thick fog although this cleared to a clear sky by the time I reached 4,000 ft. From this height I was able to spot the river which I followed upstream towards the mountains and then took a northern detour as I flew low through the valleys.

Reaching my way point, a sharp right hand turn took me east towards Jodhpur as the sun began to set directly behind me. As the sun faded and the horizon took on its familiar purple tones I saw another large river with green fields on either bank. The last of the mountains flattened themselves out and I climbed over a number of lakes before the desert sands returned 15,000 ft below.

Coming in to Jodhpur the sky was now dark and I couldn’t make out many in the way of city lights although I could see a bridge spanning a lake with lights on. I didn’t know if this was accurate to real life Jodhpur. I contacted Jodhpur airport to request landing clearance which was denied. The airport was laying under some more fog which meant that only planes using IFR (Instrument Flight Rules) flight plans were able to land using ILS (Instrument Landing System.)

This complication really had me stumped as I would be unable to land in the foggy conditions. I continued towards the airport by following the lights of a city road until I spotted a light beacon shining through the mist. I took a very slow and very low pass of the airport to attempt to see the wind direction although I was unable to spot a classic orange wind sock at all. I wanted to continue the radio contact to the airport but had no options available. I was on my own. I used the GPS to line up with the runway best I could and successfully made a smooth touch down on Runway 05. It was eerily quiet without any other aircraft or radio contact adding to the grey mists. I parked up and looked forward to the weather clearing.

2706ad47-0295-42da-b2d2-22b500c73778 jodhpur2Mahranggarh-Fort-jodhpurjodphur-fort-main-building59_big  mehrangarh-fort-images-mehrangarh-fortmehrangarh

Mehrangarh Fort

umaid-Bhavan-Jodhpurumedbhawanpalacejodhpur palatul-umaid-bhawan-jodhpur-rajasthanUmaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur taj-umaid-palace-jodhpur-big6Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur

Umaid Bhawan Palace

JodhpurIndia

The Blue City

Travelling to India: Jodhpur – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOOsLvkbRFk

Umaid Bhawan Palace & Royal Family Of Jodhpur – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VPl0Yi4yNU

India Jodhpur – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSqeGaA-wAU

Jodhpur Fort and Thriving Market Place, India – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtdB6lHWMBo

Jodhpur , The Blue City – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av8oka5p0m0

Leave a Reply

