Flight 49) Bahrain – Jask

I knew that this flight would be a longer journey as I was to double back on myself some what and fly over Dubai once again. With this in mind I requested a fuel truck and filled both tanks to their full capacity of 68 Gallons each. Later in my tour I will be stretching the distances as far as my small plane can handle, and I even have one flight I am yet to see as possible, but I have plenty of time to find a solution yet.

I completed all of the start up procedure, which I have no doubt is vastly shorter in a simulator than it would be in real life, and requested my IFR clearance. Following the taxiways N A Q R and A to Runway 12 Right, I was leaving Bahrain tarmac at 10:20 and entering clear blue sky.

Crossing the turquoise seas between Bahrain and Abu Dhabi, the colour soon took on a deeper navy blue and I could spot a dusting of clouds on the horizon I was due to fly through. I decided to climb a little and clipped the top of the odd cloud whilst picking my way through them. Light turbulence lasted for a good few minutes and I though I would enjoy diving through some of the larger clouds so dropped height to 6,000 ft. As the clouds increased in number and density I was no longer able to see the horizon and was relying on the satellite navigation and my instruments. The odd gap through the clouds allowed me to spot the water below, making sure it was still there. Right on cue I saw the clouds open up to show me a small island with its own runway. I later checked and found that this was Siri Island. As the turbulence grew stronger I climbed back to 10,000 ft and headed for Dubai.

It was nice to see Dubai again. I really enjoyed learning about many of the record breaking structures in Dubai and much of the history of the area. The FlyTampa “Dubai Rebooted” add-on scenery really was fantastic and I am looking forward to my arrival in Hong Kong where I hope to use another add-on pack by FlyTampa.

2015-2-27_12-11-9-546 copy2015-2-27_12-10-46-798 copy 2015-2-27_12-16-17-916 copy

Flying over Dubai. Again.

The rest of the flight was due to be an easy leg over the water again until reaching the Iranian shore and my landing destination of Jask. It was far from the easy leg I was expecting.

I received my first ILS instructions at 84 miles away from Jask and whilst I was surprised to receive them so early, I was greatful for the amount of support I had.

I hadn’t seen so many clouds since I was flying through the thunderstorms raging over Entebbe and lake Victoria in Africa. As I was beginning to think how easy it could be to become completely lost in the clouds a few very bright flashes lit up my cockpit and was followed by extremely close thunder. This was about the same time the turbulence decided to kick up again.

2015-2-27_11-13-43-265 copy

Flying by instrument only, I followed the ILS instructions best I could but upon request to declare that I has sight of the Runway, I was unable to reply positively. I had descended to only 2,000 ft but the cloud, rain and fog made visibility the worst I had ever flown in. (Virtually of course.) I was guided directly to the Runway but could only get a visual as I flew directly over it. By checking the runway number (6) I could establish the opposite heading to fly in (240), before completing a full 180 degree turn and hoping that I would line up with the runway.

2015-2-27_13-32-29-376 copy

Coming in to land at 500 ft, I took a very low and slow pass over a yacht and could barely make out the start of the runway. The strong crosswind had blown me slightly off course but I was able to correct for this and bring the wheels to the ground to complete the scariest landing I have done on this tour. I was still being buffeted around as I parked up for 13:35. I admit that I didn’t want to spend very long at this tiny airstrip.

_43024329_cyclone_oman_afp Bandar-e_Anzali_From_Top

Bandar-e_Anzali (Jask)

Bandar Anzali Photos – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6X24PVIn1TM

Bandar Anzali Photos 2 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3K8P3ansT3s

Leave a Reply

