Flight 48) Abu Dhabi – Bahrain

Whilst working late shifts for the past couple of weeks I decided that this flight could be taken of an evening whilst watching the sun set across the Emirate Sands. Checking the fuel levels I was confident that I did not need to refuel before this flight as I had over half tanks full.

Seeing the sun peeking over the terminal building I could see it rapidly getting lower in the sky. It didn’t take long until my aircraft was sitting in a shadow and I was starting my engines.

By writing down the taxi directions I trusted my navigation skills to find the correct taxi ways and entrance to Runway 13. It was another long taxi and even had to stop to avoid a collision with a fire crew.

Awaiting my take off clearance I watched a CRJ700 on final and eventually touch down before rolling onto the runway myself and pushing the throttle open. My wheels were up at 17:10 and I banked to the correct heading, ready to enjoy the setting sun over the waters.

It was clear where the wealth of the United Arab Emirates comes from as I passed over oil platforms not far from the coastline.

As the sun disappeared and the sky became a deeper shade of blue, the clouds took on a orange hue before eventually thinning out to a clear sky. I climbed to 10,000 ft and leveled off. This flight felt like quite a long time in the air although I am sure that it was probably simple because I was so tired myself. Whilst night time flights can be fun to test instrument reading skills, I think it a better idea to do the longer flights during daylight hours.

Once the stars had come out I was impressed to witness 3 shooting stars flash across the sky in front of me. This was the first time I had ever seen shooting stars within the simulator FSX and was surprised that they had been included.

Reaching Bahrain the skies quickly became a lot busier and as I entered my landing pattern I saw 4 other aircraft ahead of me whilst counting other aircraft taking off. Both runways were in full use and once I had landed I was very surprised to find out that the runways themselves are used a lot by taxiing aircraft. This meant a lot of waiting whilst other aircraft were landing and taking off although whilst waiting, I did get to see another set of shooting stars.

I didn’t know much about Bahrain other than the Formula 1 Circuit. So was interested in seeing some of their own architecture. Whilst turning on to my crosswind leg, I saw a very long road which seemed to stretch out over the water. I was puzzled by this until I checked Google Maps and could see that they do indeed have a very long bridge spanning the sea between the islands.

Turning my engines off and parking the aircraft I know that I shall need to refuel before my next flight which will be doubling back on my journey before arriving at Jask.

Bahrain-Airport

Bahrain Airport

NIGHTking fahd causeway bridge

King Faud Causeway

bahrain

Bahrain World Trade CenterBahrain_12_682x400_1254582aBahrain Formula 1 Circuit

Bahrain City Guide & Travel Information – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmREZW80FJQ

Qatar-Bahrain bridge – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DA3LjhY0RY

Bahrain International Airshow 2012 Documentary – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PMkDBVrupbI

Top Places to visit in Manama, Bahrain – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhbOEz_0HiI

Bahrain 2014 F1 Race Edit – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0i6xsCZJw9U

A Tourist’s Guide to Manama, Bahrain – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWCEN55m0G0

“Happy” In Bahrain – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTrBlI-64DA

Leave a Reply

