Flight 46) Seeb International, Muscat – Dubai

The city of Muscat has been full of amazing places which I would very much like to visit first hand. I used Google Earth to travel from Seeb International Airport to the city of Muscat itself and was overwhelmed by the grandeur of many of the buildings. See my previous post for images of some of the architecture and the very impressive Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque.

As wonderful as the capital of Oman was, I have been looking forward to my next destination of Dubai since leaving the virtual tarmac of my home city of Edinburgh, UK.

Being so keen to reach Dubai I fired up my computer and loaded FSX first thing on the weekend morning. By 9:00 am I was looking out of the windows of my Beech Baron and watching the organised mayhem of aircraft much larger than mine negotiate the taxiways of Seeb International.

I rather enjoyed the bustle of the airport around me as I powered up my Beech Baron 58, started both engines and began my taxi route to runway 26 behind a Beech King Air. After watching the King Air take off I received my own take off clearance and had raised the wheels by 09:19.

2014-11-28_9-19-44-63

Looking Back at Seeb International

It didn’t take long to reach my 6,000 ft flight level and could see over the sand dunes and rocky hills as they passed below. Only three or four clouds marked the horizon line in front of me and I was surprised to see a single patch of greenery in the expanse of desert. I wasn’t sure if this was accurate or simple a bug in the FSX Software. As the hills continued below me, they grew progressively taller until I was climbing further to clear them at 11,000 ft. The Hajjar mountains broke up the rolling sand deserts and made for a little more interest in the landscape.

2014-11-28_9-45-3-422

Flying above the Hajjar Mountains

Heading a bearing of 335 degrees, I slowly descended back down to 10,000 ft and the resulting speed gain cut my ETA to 24 minutes to the next way point. With mountains on my left and sea to my right I clipped a single cloud and realized that while Seeb International Airport was incredibly busy, the skies here were rather quiet.

I was keen to see Dubai coming in to view over the horizon as I had treated myself to the fantastic “FlyTampa Dubai” Scenery Add-on Pack which contains a huge area of detailed landmarks including the worlds tallest building, although I was still 109 miles out when I received my ILS landing instructions to follow a bearing of 345 and then 315 and back again. This repetition quickly became irritating and I knew this had to be a glitch with FSX radio communications. All the while I still had not seen Dubai come in to view.

At 10:35 I could make out on the horizon, the giant rising tower that is the Burj Khalifa. The tallest building in the world! The building was impressive even from a long distance away.

2014-11-28_10-42-48-126

Dubai comes in to view.

Dubai International Airport appeared very quickly afterwards and I was soon on final to land on runway 30L, the larger of Dubai’s runways.

2014-11-28_10-47-0-960

Trying not to get distracted by the size and detail of the area I landed smoothly at 10:45 and immediately taxied for a very long way until I reached my parking bay just in front of the Dnata Freight Gate.
2014-11-28_10-52-47-352 2014-11-28_10-54-5-880

Whilst taxiing I could see so many features in the horizon that I knew I would have to explore again in another short flight and was already looking forward to spending a longer time here than in most of my destinations. As I set my parking break and turned off the engines and avionics I thought to myself that this might be the final time I do this. Not because I want to end my journey, but because in a city as amazing and luxurious as Dubai, it would make sense that if I was to upgrade my aircraft, I should do so in Dubai!

   2014-11-28_11-9-37-858

Fly Tampa Dubai Rebooted

1232131 Dubai_Airport_overview dubai_dxb dubai_marine_beach_resort_and_spa_sky_view Dubai-2 Dubai-05 dubai-daredevil-selfie fog-over-dubai-5-935x600 o-DUBAI-TIME-LAPSE-VIDEO-facebook

Dubai Travel Video Guide (25 mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SlR0Y1dGecE

DUBAI: The Greatest City On Earth (43 mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wOSci-rWf2Q

Dubai Holidays Destination Guide from Virgin Holidays (7 mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nkrh3po0KBA

Travel Dubai – The Tourist Attraction (8 Mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9TtbrRBwEc

 The Luxury Life Of Dubai By Piers Morgan – full documentary (58 mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbUOaVqBFJQ

Dubai – the rules (3 mins) – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spgEppa1BgY

Leave a Reply

