Flight 45) Masirah – Seeb International, Muscat

Masirah appeared to be a very remote place to visit. I found that there are many trips taken to Masirah Island although I was eager to move on to parts of the world with a little more population as I gear up to my arrival in Dubai!

Whilst I knew I was to be flying over desert and sea, without a lot to see, I wanted to enjoy the challenge of a night time flight so set off rather late. Taking off from the runway at 8:50 pm I looked over my shoulder at the island below and could make out the main road which runs a complete loop around the island. Still, there were not many buildings or lights to see from the air.

I continued to fly north over the Arabian Sea and soon passed over the shore line at 6,000 ft. The brief but heavy turbulence notified me that I was over warm land again and I turned to a heading of 030. It was nice to see the odd cloud speckled through out the dark navy sky. It was equally nice to be flying above them as I climbed to 8,000 ft and continued to 10,000 ft. The dark sky allowed me to enjoy a different kind of view as my eyes were drawn to the brighter parts of the sky and I realized I was looking at Earth’s view of the Milkyway from my left window.

I was tuned to Muscat center and was surprised at how little radio chatter there was as at 9:20 I heard the only other aircraft in the sky, a Bombardier. I decided to gain some speed and requested a decent to 6,000ft. To really enjoy the challenge of night time flying I stuck to flying by instruments only. By the time I looked out of the windows once again I could see the opposite shore line coming into view on the horizon, dark shapes describing mountains to my left with a lot of desert floor below.

By 9:36 I had reached my second way point and received my landing instructions from Seeb International airport for runway 26. It wasn’t for another 15 mins of flight before I saw the lights of Muscat City come in to view and I saw another aircraft in the sky.

My first approach was missed as I failed to hear my landing clearance being given over the radio so I entered a downwind left landing pattern and looped over the city. Even the simulator FSX made Muscat appear to be a substantial location.

2014-11-27_22-6-43-729

 

Muscat City FSX

As I lined up for runway 26 I could see the airport was buzzing with aircraft and ground vehicles.  Just whilst taxiing to my parking spot I watched 4 aircraft leave Seeb International Airport and take to the night’s sky.

2014-11-27_22-43-45-659

Time to see what Muscat City has to offer.

muskatcity092_270_muscat_site_view downtown-muscat-waterfront-muscatMuscatRoadGate

256192ee-c0f1-4738-b3b6-8d8767dfbdc6_d grand mosque sultan-qaboos-grand-mosque12

Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque

Muscat 02 Muscat 07 Al Jalali Fortroyal-opera-house-muscat19521814_600x400 The front of the Sultan's Palace.

Landing OOMS Muscat – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7saH-nDyMc
National Geographic Channel: World Traveller – Muscat & Nizwa – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wFZMcIbg3c
Muscat capital of Oman – Unravel Travel TV – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZZAnxAmg_w
Muscat City Tour – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=op1ZHk_qoG8
Oman Muscat 2013 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kp8SCdTBu9w
Amazing Oman Muscat, Nizwa – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ufi-z_fgJ4
Oman Travel Guide and Tourism 2014 ( Full Video HD)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjVD1izlwNQ

Leave a Reply

