Flight 44) Salalah – Masirah

Salalah has been a refreshing change from the remote locations I have been growing accustomed to. I was surprised to see that Salalah is a larger city which includes the Hilton hotel and resorts which only wealth can generate. I didn’t get the impression there was a huge amount of wealth available in Salalah but of course it is all comparable to my previous destinations.

I started FSX and created my flight plan in the game software provided. I made sure that I would fly over the few interesting bits of terrain whilst not over the ocean. Gaining IFR clearance, I taxied towards the runway. I enjoyed holding at the entrance to runway 25 whilst a MD-80 with call-sign SOAR61 landed and cleared the runway. By 11:50 I was rolling down the tarmac and about to leave Salalah behind me.

There had been many beautiful locations around Salalah which I hadn’t ever heard about before. I was surprised to hear what a large destination it was. Coincidentally I watched the movie “Captain Philips” during my stop in Salalah and noticed that this was the port in which his ship sailed from. Its funny how it is possible to spend a life not being aware of something, and then upon discovering something it is noticed in a variety of places.

Taking a final look at Salalah over my left shoulder I climbed slowly at 300 feet per minute and trimmed the aircraft for speed rather than rate of climb. Just before leaving land I got to fly over a small canyon directly beneath my first way point. I had done well at planning my course.The next part of the journey was over sea once again and I could see smaller islands just off of the coast.

2014-11-19_9-16-33-995

It was just past 12:17 when I reached my next way point with another 1 hour 22 minutes to go. I really am enjoying the way most islands seem to be bordered by a small band of turquoise sea. I climbed higher and pushed though some turbulence as I crossed the opposite shore line. Over the radio I heard that SOAR 61 had left Salalah and was back in the air. I did’t get to hear where it was heading to this time.

Requesting 4,000 ft from 8,000 ft I was able to descend and increase my speed. I soon received ILS instructions at 76 miles out from my destination. I chose instead to fly over the island of Masirah to see what it had to offer. I was very surprised at how deserted the majority of the island was. I saw only a handful of buildings closer to the north end of the island close to the airfield. When I landed on runway 25 and taxied to my parking spot, there was a distinct lack of movement. No other aircraft or airfield traffic made this place feel exceedingly lonely.

 

images741images6545Loubnamacramp81Masirah-OmanOOMA678198644621_9e7d9b3e32_z     masirah_island   TURTLE -MASIRAH image2

 

BAE Hawk Mk103 Mk203 over Masirah Oman – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dV9TSoe1lqc 

Trip To Oman masirah Island – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azqZ6toiUp0

2nd time on Masirah Island, Oman – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8Hn1jQMCwI

Oman / Masirah Island – a filmed Kiteboarding documentation – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DpzeGABFhc

Leave a Reply

