Flight 43) Moori – Salalah

After such a long time on the ground due to non-working PC I was itching to get at the controls and take to the skies once again. The island of Socotra held many strange and wonderful things but I knew there were more things to discover throughout the rest of my journey.

As it has been so long since I flew, as mentioned in my previous post, I thought it a good idea to take a small flight around the island to familiarize myself with the controls, handling and also to get an idea of scale of the island I had been stranded on for the past 9 months.

I set up the Beech Baron with my EZDock Camera configuration before adjusting the weight and fuel settings. Once I was happy the simulator had loaded the correct weather and I had finely tuned the graphical settings to get the very best from both REX and my machine, I requested taxi and take off clearance and soon took to the sky.

Taking off to the North meant that I was quickly met with bright shades of blue and turquoise as the shore line passed below. Turning a full 270 degrees to my left I circled the airport and headed for the hills on the Eastern half of the island. From my parking spot at the airport I could see the mountains in the distance and this was my first time seeing them from the air. I continued to head east until I reached the furthest shore finished with a small pointed hill. I turned back and following the South coast I was soon close to the airport again. Having already taken a very close look at the Western side of the island when I had to make my emergency landing, I decided I would rather land back at the airport.

There are not many airports that I will land at twice on this tour so Moori could be classed as a special point in this adventure.

A couple of days later and I was eager to move on from Socotra and continue to my next stop of Salalah, Oman. There was not going to be a lot to look at on this flight as it was almost entirely over water. Even so, I wanted to enjoy the view so made sure I flew during daylight hours.

I took off from Moori Airport at 10:25 and simply flew north over the water for just over an hour. At 11:35 I caught my first sight of new land. At 50 miles out I heard my call sign “Pacifica 112” over the radio advising of my ILS instructions for landing. As I drew ever nearer to land I could see large cliffs and sand dunes in the right side of my windscreen. I dropped altitude from 10,000ft to 6,000ft and hit some rather heavy turbulence coming off the shore line. As I banked left more turquoise water passed below and as I leveled out again I was following a range of hills towards the airport.

I was soon back on firm ground and taxiing to my new parking spot. I hoped that I would not be spending such a long time between flights this time.

Whilst turning off my engines and instruments a rather large passenger jet started its own engines and taxied towards the runway. It was nice to be among real civilization again.

 

63485525.PXgmHGoB.DarApr06008 574319518673824Vue_de_Salalahgoats salalahsalalah_airport_webChosen_gallery_salalah_main_resizedsalalah8salalah-beach-oman1.jpg.1024x0Hilton-Hotel-Salalah2bb9c25c5-8ba1-465a-9e2f-8f711d59465aHilton-Salalah_12652912631

Salalah Highlights – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1xibjy_3y0M
National Geographic Channel: World Traveller, Salalah & Musandam – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTIO85lDjAY
Salalah 2014 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_qwnlN8X9M
Photography from Salalah – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1mJe_uT4qE

Leave a Reply

