Flight 36) EAST LONDON – DURBAN

Flying almost twice as far as the last journey whilst almost the same scenery passed below made this trip a little too familiar and I found myself already becoming a bit over accustomed to what was still very beautiful landscapes. I broke up the creeping boredom by darting between the clouds which lightly peppered the sky and by climbing high out to sea before slowly descending as I flew back towards the land. I’m sure this added extra flight time to the journey and I kept an eye on the fuel gauge as we got closer to the runway, although I needn’t had worried at all.

The landing at Durban was the final point of my own detour from the official route. I enjoyed seeing Cape Town and was glad to explore the south coast a little more too, however it was good to push on with the rest of the around the world tour as it feels like I have been in African territory for a very long time now.

Durban is South Africa’s third largest city after Johannesburg and Cape Town, so I’m pretty glad to check out this city before leaving Africa. The artwork produced from sand on some of its beaches is very impressive to see and I also fancy trying a local meal called a “Bunnie.” A Bunnie is basically a curry put inside half a loaf of bread. That’s certainly something I could try to make at home.

Durban-beach

Durban Beach

A Taxi Driver’s Tour of Durban: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNjU3DXMgcY

Images of Durban 01: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHhUSOEoSoY

Driving through Durban: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXaOOhzThzU

The Wedge Beach. Durban: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNq2GPaN2GQ

Back On Official Route

Leave a Reply

