Flight 30) Louis Trichardt – Johannesburg

Leaving Louis Trichardt in early morning dawn, the sun only rose higher throughout the flight. I’m not so sure that crossing the wilderness in the midday sun is something I would want to do first had though as a lot of the terrain looked very sun scorched.

I do feel that by flying over this land that I would be missing out on seeing many of the wild animals below. I will have to watch some of “Planet Earth”, the TV show, or visit Edinburgh zoo to see some of these animals.

Whilst coming in to land I took the opportunity to take a lap over the city. It’s not as large as I had expected after seeing the scale of previous towns along the way. I expected Jo’burg to be much, much, larger. I was however surprised at how modern the city appears in many of the images I saw online. I still have a rather narrow mental view of Africa being very third world and not having these pockets of modern society. I really need to change that view.

 Johannesburg-006

Jo’Burgh

Johannesburg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=41w76_6MqiA

Johannesburg Tour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VrUVmWJKxss

Staying Alive in Johannesburg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQaR2Haumxs

Louis Theroux, Law and disorder in Jo’Burgh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZJ1w9-Umcw

3 thoughts on “Flight 30) Louis Trichardt – Johannesburg

  1. kage May 14, 2014 / 6:34 pm

    This is interesting. I am currently plotting a world tour myself. I would be intrested to know what procedures you used initially and what is the best direction to travel in . also if you recommend some addons or tools for those of us still learning. Thanks.

    Kage
    Pretoria , south Africa

    • CJWood29 May 19, 2014 / 10:42 am

      Hi Kage
      Thanks for your message. I actually started this route by following the “Around the world in 80 flights” DVD which can be purchased online. This includes all the flights with preloaded flight plans. I wanted to take more control so I have been following the route but adding in my own stop offs to make sure I get to see parts of the world I really dont want to miss. I dont think there is a “best direction to travel” although my tour started in Scotland UK and has worked south all the way to Cape Town before heading back up again towards india. From there I shall be travelling east. I will post the entire route for you so you can see where it is that im going. Of course this is likely to change somewhat as I fly from place to place though.
      Good luck in your journey and keep commenting. Send some photos and details of your flights.
      Chris,
      Edinburgh, Scotland

    • CJWood29 July 25, 2014 / 3:53 pm

      Hi Kage.
      Thanks for your message. I’d be great to see a blog of yours for your around the world flights.
      I simply started off with the DVD add-on for fsx called around the world in 80 flights. This has a pretty good route already programmed in although I tend to do my own flight plans now.
      I’m following the route but also making A LOT of detours as there is many places I would otherwise miss out on.
      I would say REX add-on is a must. It really does improve the graphics and skies. Also EZDock camera adds a lot of realism with general head Bob and camera options.
      Enjoy your tour
      Chris

Leave a Reply

