Flight 29) Harare – Louis Trichardt

Flying almost exactly south for almost 2 hours I found myself getting swamped by heavy clouds yet again. This part of the world certainly held more water in the air than that of the Mediterranean. The occasional flash of lightning lit up the sky ahead of me.

Getting closer to the lightning I could see that it was a range of mountains that was pushing the air upwards which would have been creating the spectacular show. I tried to dip below the clouds for better visibility but wanted to be cautious of the mountain peaks below. I navigated through the rain and poor visibility whilst hopping and weaving through the peaks for a short distance before coming out on the south side of the range. Turning east I then flew parallel to the small mountain range and was guided in to the airfield. The sun getting low in the sky at the point my wheels touched the very small airfield and the length of mountain range which shields the city made this stop feel rather safe and secure. I decided to refuel upon landing which gave me opportunity to watch the sun set over the mountains to the north. After crossing the equator of course the sun was setting to the northwest which was a strange thing to someone who has lived their whole life in the northern hemisphere.St Trichard sun set

Watching the sun set from my Beech Baron 58

Louis Trichardt 01

Louis Trichardt Road

 louis-trichardt_header

Louis Trichardt Postcard

Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge , Louis Trichardt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQxnzaxTJSw

On the road in Louis Trichardt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOvGsoGMkbM

Leave a Reply

