Flight 25) Nairobi – Kasulu

Once again I got to fly over the largest body of fresh water in the world, Lake Victoria. It is also the start of the River Nile, the longest river in the world. Although this time I only skirted the south of the lake, the sun ahead of me reflected of the water and showed every detail of the shore extremely clearly.

I continued on to the next massive body of water, Lake Tanganyika. Flying over Burundi I caught sight of the north of the lake and turned south to head to Kasulu. Descending low and following the water my fuel was running dangerously low. It was pretty hard to spot the runway so had to use the GPS to show me its location. This wasn’t due to clouds or poor visibility this time. It was because it was an unlit, dirt track in the middle of nowhere, outside of the main town of Kasulu. With no radio based at the airfield I called in my landing but found there was no way to refuel. I have been refuelling by visiting the airport fuel pumps or requesting the fuel truck.

Image

Kasulu Airfield

I couldn’t find out too much about Kasulu but they do have a really lovely choir which seems to be rather popular. I just wish I knew what they were singing. See the following videos.

This one is really catchy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wu59aFdfw6k

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8Z3LBtDA3M

With low fuel and fading light I took off almost straight away and flew to the north end of Lake Tanganyika. Here was a larger international airport to cater for Bujumbura city. As I contacted the tower and was granted landing clearance I was sure my fuel gauge was reading empty but my small plane made it to the ground and to its parking spot for this stage of the adventure.

 Image

Burundi Airport

Burundi International Airport: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lz2zmoPLmYg

Leave a Reply

