Flight 23) Kilimanjaro – Mombasa

I really enjoyed watching the videos of Kilimanjaro but it has left me feeling like I need to achieve something more with my life. Maybe I will arrange a trip in the future. My closest friend has already said that he would be up for the challenge.

Moving on to my next location was a straight flight east heading for the coast. The flight took me over lots of national park. I enjoy watching documentaries and nature programs although I don’t think I would be entirely comfortable sharing a landscape with wild lions or elephants. The chance to see them in the wild would no doubt be unforgettable. I would just want to be able to return home to somewhere safe afterwards.

Mombasa isn’t somewhere I know lots about. My only impression of it is that it is a rather violent and dangerous place. All towns and cities have they good and bad districts however, my understanding is that there is a higher percentage of bad districts in Mombasa. Part of me is glad that this stop is only a virtual one.

Image

­­­

Artificial tusks in Mombasa. A gift from Great Britain during the 50s.

Streets of Mombasa. Fort Jesus. Lighthouse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2pDcK4g0_U

A Tourist Guide to Mombasa: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLG8VI0TqfQ

A drive around Mombasa: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm3vQbz2vWU

A walking tour of Mombasa: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ol88dRwHbz8

2 thoughts on “Flight 23) Kilimanjaro – Mombasa

  1. worldairtravelandtours December 3, 2013 / 12:30 pm

    Climbing Kilimanjaro and a safari are things you should definitely think about! 😉

    • CJWood29 February 9, 2015 / 2:11 pm

      I am still considering them now. I say “considering” although I know full well that I want to do them, I just need to save up some holiday and money to pay for it all.
      Thank you for your comment though.

Leave a Reply

